Spring Sale! 25% off all orders using code SPRING25. *Offer ends June 1

Free shipping on all orders over $50

What Are Your 12 Principal Meridians, and How Do They Support Your Immune System?

What are your 12 meridians, and how do they support your immune system? Read this guide to discover everything you need to know.

Your immune system is a complicated network of proteins and cells that defend the body against infection. The immune system will keep a record of every microbe (germ) it has ever defeated. This enables it to recognize the microbe quickly and destroy it should it enter the body again at any point. It is important to support your immune system to keep it functioning at the highest level possible. Doing this allows you to lead a healthy, balanced lifestyle.

To help you lead a life of balance, Dejia Harmony focused on several Indicators of Health Status that impact your overall wellbeing, and specifically how your body responds to illness. These include: 


Invisible vital energy pathways that run through the body.

Zang-Fu Organs

A collection of organs that produce and regulate vital energy within the body.

Body Constitution

Every individual has a unique body constitution, or body type, which changes over time. These changes affect how you feel, how you behave, and even how your body responds to causes of illness. 

Today we will specifically focus on the first – Meridians. We’ll explore the other Indicators of Health Status in future blogs. Be sure to subscribe to our newsletter and follow Dejia Harmony on Facebook and Instagram to never miss out on future articles. 

What is a Meridian?

As we stated above, Meridians are invisible vital energy pathways that run through the body. You can think of Meridians like rivers, carrying the flow of energy (called Qi or Chi) just like a river carries the flow of water in a specific direction. These Meridian pathways work by distributing energy, nutrients, and blood across the body similar to the way the circulatory system operates. 

To describe the direction of the flow of energy, the Meridian System incorporates the Yin and Yang duality. The Yin energy radiates outward, while the Yang energy returns to the core.

In Traditional Chinese Medicine, the immune system is called Wei Qi (pronounced “way chee”). The Wei Qi is closely associated with the internal organs – most specifically, the lungs. When the energy of the lungs is well-balanced, Wei Qi is strong and can easily fight off any external attacks. In Traditional Chinese Medicine, if lung function is deficient or compromised in any way, then the body is more open to external pathogens like viruses and bacteria. Common symptoms of decreased Wei Qi or immunity include coughing, sneezing, runny nose, watery eyes, sore throat, headaches, fever and/or chills.

There are 12 major Principal Meridians in a body and these Meridian lines are all connected to major organs. The connection to our immune system stems from Traditional Chinese Medicine or TCM. Meridians are rooted in the Eastern Medicine theories of energy medicine. Eastern medicine focuses on energy balance throughout your body as the key determinant of your overall health.

Meridian-based therapies are created on the concept that there is a disruption in the qi/chi energy flow, which can cause the immune system to be compromised. This can make the body susceptible to a lot of unwanted diseases and conditions. In other words, when qi is blocked, it can cause illness or pain. 

Understanding the 12 Principal Meridians in further detail

Let’s take a look at each of the 12 Principal Meridians in further detail so that you can get a better understanding:

  1. Pericardium Meridian – The Pericardium Meridian is responsible for regulating the QI (energy) that surrounds your heart, protects the heart, and makes sure that there is correct emotional balance and function. 
  2. Kidney Meridian – Next, the Kidney Meridian has the role of regulating the reproductive system, producing blood and bone marrow, and regulating levels of testosterone. 
  3. Bladder Meridian – The Bladder Meridian will regulate toxins being removed from your body. 
  4. Small Intestine Meridian – The Small Intestine Meridian has the role of absorbing nutrients, absorbing water, digesting, and bowel functions.
  5. Heart Meridian – Next, the Heart Meridian will regulate blood circulation to all of your organs.
  6. Stomach Meridian – We move onto the Stomach Meridian now, which regulates nutrients being extracted from food, as well as distributing to the spleen and intestines, and the overall digestion of food.
  7. Large Intestine Meridian – The Large Intestine Meridian will regulate the processing and extracting water from waste.
  8. Lung Meridian – The Lung Meridian will control the way in which energy is consumed and it has an impact on the respiratory system. 
  9. Liver Meridian – The Liver Meridian will regulate the female reproductive system, energy circulation, and it maintains the flexibility of the tendons and the ligaments. 
  10. Gall Bladder Meridian – The Gall Bladder Meridian will regulate the storage and removal of toxins that the liver produces. 
  11. Triple Warmer Meridian – The Triple Warmer Meridian will regulate the body’s metabolism and promote overall wellness.
  12. Spleen Meridian – Last but not least, we have the Spleen Meridian, which is primarily used for diagnosing and treating palpitations and blood deficiency.

Manipulating your 12 Principal Meridians to support your immune system

As we’ve now learned, Qi flows through your entire body in a system of the 12 Meridians. The 12 Meridians correspond to the body’s systems and organs. Manipulating this energy assists in opening blocked channels. This allows your body’s healing force to attend to any areas that are diseased. 

From a more Western point of view, acupuncture and Meridian massage can be used for the purpose of stimulating or manipulating certain systems, organs, and bodily functions. This is accomplished through the stimulation of certain parts of your skin that are nerve-rich areas. 

When it comes to leading a happy and healthy lifestyle, it is vital to make sure that all of your 12 Meridians are balanced and working effectively. This is the key to optimal health

Focusing on the 12 Meridians is just one way that Dejia Harmony harnesses the wisdom of Eastern medicine and infuses it with the innovation of Western medical science. This combination enables us to share the root cause of wellness and help guide our clients to live a life in balance.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

In this post:

Related Posts

A woman sits, seen from behind, in a field during Springtime.

Spring is a time for Renewal with TCM

Traditional Chinese Medicine teaches us that we should all live in harmony with the seasons – and in TCM, Spring is the ideal time for cleansing and rejuvenation for overall health and well-being.

Herbal Goodness

Sign Up and Get 25% Off

Sign up for our emails to receive promotions and sales!